Chocolate Cake Truffles

1 Oct

Hi again!

I made a few cakes last week.  A friend’s son had a birthday, so I made him a cake.  I had two decorating classes, so I made a cake for those.  Another friend wanted cupcakes for her daughter, and I always bake a few extra.

Needless to say, after decorating these cakes;  I had a lot of cake tops left over…you know the big dome you cut off the top of your cake to make it flat.  Usually the kids hover and eat it all,  but I made the majority of these cakes at night, so I had a bowl full of cake tops (and extra cupcakes)!

I didn’t want them to go to waste, so I made truffles.  I crumbled up all of the left overs into a bowl and threw in a can of chocolate frosting.  I had never tried this with chocolate before….though I had made a few with cream cheese frosting.  Bakerella posted Red Velvet cake balls a while back and they were wonderful.  So I figured I’d make use of what I had in my panty and see how they turned out.

They turned out just right!

You should definitely try them….only you don’t have to use cake tops.

You will need……

  • 1 box of cake mix ( and the ingredients to make it)
  • 1 can of chocolate frosting
  • chocolate candy melts or chocolate chips
  • orange candy melts for decorating (optional, and change-up the color however you would like)
  • wax paper

Just make a quick 9×13 cake using your favorite box mixed. ( I used french vanilla in the cakes I made, the cupcakes were vanilla as well, but not from a mix.)  Quite honestly, I think any cake flavor would work out well.  After the cake is cool, put it in a bowl and crumble it into crumbs.

Mix in a can of chocolate frosting…..I used my hands, it combines easier in my opinion; but it is messy! I would start with half of the can and then add more as needed.  You want the mixture to be thick, and not gloppy.  It should stick together and stay if you roll it into a ball.   Refrigerate the mix til firm.  I left mine in the fridge over night.

Once the dough is firm, roll into 1 inch balls.  Place the balls into the freezer to harden, it makes them easier to dip into the melted chocolate.

Heat the chocolate or candymelts in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time until melted. (you can also use a double boiler if you prefer) I placed the cake balls on a fork, dipped them and them placed them on wax paper to set.  Tapping them before you put them down shakes off some of the excess chocolate, so it will not pool around your truffle as it sets.

Decorate however you wish!

So easy….. and they are totally yummy!!!

I hope you enjoy :)

Love, Lara

4 Responses to “Chocolate Cake Truffles”

  1. Sue October 1, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    I am definetly going to make these next time I’m ask to bring a dessert to a function. The Rolo cookies….yum!

    • mombakes October 1, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

      I’ll have them at tea!!

  2. sally @ sallys baking addiction October 1, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    a completely PERFECT treat for halloween. I love cake truffles. And i love making them because they please everyone!

    • mombakes October 1, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

      They are so easy but the presentation doesn’t show it :) These were pretty rich!

Leave a Reply

Mom Bakes

and bakes and bakes!

Sweet Little Thang

♥ ℬaking & ℭreating ℳemories ♥

Welcome to the world of NECCO!

News, crafts, recipes and more from the New England Confectionery Company (NECCO).

Wishes and Dishes

Food, Fun & Travel

Cookie Madness

and bakes and bakes!

Averie Cooks

and bakes and bakes!

Crazy for Crust

and bakes and bakes!

bakerella.com

and bakes and bakes!

Picky Palate

and bakes and bakes!

Cookies and Cups

and bakes and bakes!

Hoosier Homemade

Making your House a Home

Love From The Oven

and bakes and bakes!

My Baking Addiction

modern. delicious. addictive.

Sallys Baking Addiction

A Sprinkle of Fun and Adventure.

The Domestic Rebel

Everyday Ingredients, Extraordinary Desserts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

